Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (4) - TV Shows (6) - Books (2) - Music (5)

Television Without Pity: 752 Things We Love to Hate (and Hate to Love) About TV review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 22 May 2011 05:13 (A review of Television Without Pity: 752 Things We Love to Hate (and Hate to Love) About TV)

I just re-read this book. It's good, but needs to be updated. I know Sars and Tara aren't with the site any more, but they should consider a new tome about the best and worst of TV.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A Year at the Movies: One Man's Filmgoing Odyssey review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 22 May 2011 05:10 (A review of A Year at the Movies: One Man's Filmgoing Odyssey)

A wonderful love letter to the movies and a great read.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Breaking In review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 14 May 2011 06:18 (A review of Breaking In)

This show is pretty amusing to me, and I have a hard time finding sitcoms that really appeal to me. It's got the same vibe as 'Better Off Ted' - wacky workplace scenarios, strange bosses, unusual projects - so that part of it appeals to me.

I have no time for the love story angle, though. It's really unnecessary and takes me out of the story every time Bret Harrison's character does something asinine in pursuit of the sole female lead. I wonder if he fell for her just because she's the only woman with any lines?

Other than that, this is a really enjoyable workplace comedy with great characters (one secondary character is named Ana Ng! TMBG reference!) and really fun performances by Slater and Rosenbaum. Of course it was recently cancelled, giving it something else in common with 'Better Off Ted.'


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Community review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 11 May 2011 01:36 (A review of Community)

The worst episode of Community is better than 99% of whatever else is on TV right now. One of the cleverest, funniest and most inventive shows I have ever seen. Just when you think you've seen the best episode of Community ever made, along comes the best episode of Community ever made. Do yourself a favor and watch!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Zoboomafoo review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 11 May 2011 01:33 (A review of Zoboomafoo)

I love Zoboomafoo! I watched it with my son when he was little. Had a bit of a crush on one of the Kratt brothers. (The other one did nothing for me.) Great show.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mystery Science Theater 3000 review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 11 May 2011 01:25 (A review of Mystery Science Theater 3000)

One of the best shows, ever. I can't believe this concept made it to television, and for 10 seasons on two networks, no less. (Counting the various iterations of Comedy Central as one net, by the way.) But lucky for me it did exist, because this one hits the sweet spot as far as my sense of humor goes.

At the time this came out, I worked master control at a TV station. I would have to watch some pretty terrible movies, counting down the minutes until I switched to a commercial break (blessed relief, in some cases.) This show really spoke to me - yeah, Joel and the 'bots had to watch some pretty crappy movies, but they fought back with clever quips and jabs at the movie's stars, directors, writers et al.

And the jokes were terrifically funny. The writers on this show covered everything: pop culture, literature, insular Minnesotan references, movies and movie-making, to name only a few. They could take what are literally the worst movies ever made ('Manos: Hands of Fate', for one) and turned them into super entertainment.

I was sad when the show was cancelled by the Sci-Fi network; 10 years didn't seem like nearly enough. And I never got to see them take on 'Armageddon.' But it was great while it lasted, and we still have Rifftrax. (Check out their website or see them in a local theater: some of the same guys are doing the same hilarious movie-riffing, sans robots.)

Thanks MST3K, for teaching me to laugh about love, again.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Rocky Horror Picture Show review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 10 May 2011 02:27 (A review of The Rocky Horror Picture Show)

Is this a good movie? Of course not. But I had a lot of fun at the midnight movies in high school, throwing toilet paper and dancing the Time Warp in the aisles. I'll always remember that fondly. If you ever have a chance to see this movie that way (and not on VH1) then go do it!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Soft Spot review

Posted : 6 years, 6 months ago on 5 December 2010 01:25 (A review of Soft Spot)

The song "Find Love" is one of the loveliest songs I have ever heard.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

7th Heaven review

Posted : 6 years, 6 months ago on 2 December 2010 12:24 (A review of 7th Heaven)

This show started off as a decent family drama. In the later seasons, though, this show became almost unwatchable. There was unintentional humor in the amazingly bad production values, ham-handed morality messages, laughably bad writing and desperately awful acting that made it worthy of a MST3K-style viewing party.

It's not the wholesome family drama some would have you believe; despite the main character being a minister (not that you saw him do much ministering,) this show had a rather obsessive preoccupation with sex; much more discussion of that topic occurred on this show than did on, say, Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I blame Brenda Hampton, as I have the same quibbles with her mysteriously popular "Secret Life of the American Teenager." Watch at your own risk!

(I do love that the dog Happy has top billing here!)


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A Room with a View review

Posted : 6 years, 7 months ago on 27 November 2010 02:57 (A review of A Room with a View)

Though this may be a movie of manners and proper behavior, it also features the hottest kiss you will ever see in an English costume drama. Sands and Bonham Carter are irresistible in this tale of young love and defying convention.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block